MARY, OUR MOTHER

Thursday, October 21, 2010

EWTN NEWSLETTER: PAUL VI: A POPE IN THE TEMPEST

WINGS - EWTN e-newsletter
WEEKLY FEATURE
Paul VI: A Pope in the Tempest
By Michelle Laque Johnson

Most of us know Pope Paul VI as the "Humanae Vitae" Pope, but he was so much more than that one, albeit extremely important, encyclical. Find out about this pro-life Pope, the successor to Pope John XXIII, who was also a strong advocate of social justice and the principle of collegiality, in the movie, "Paul VI." (Part 1 airs 1 p.m. ET, Wed., Oct. 27 and 8 p.m. ET, Sat. Oct. 30. Part 2 airs 1 p.m. ET, Wed., Nov. 3 and 8 p.m. ET, Sat., Nov. 6.)

This movie takes you on a riveting journey into one of the most difficult periods in history. From the rise of the Fascist regime and World War II to the Second Vatican Council and beyond, this film highlights the Pope's tremendous outreach to the Church around the world.

Christened Giovanni Battista Enrico Antonio Maria Montini, the future Pope was born to a wealthy Italian family on Sept. 26, 1897 and educated by the Jesuits. He was very intelligent, but his health was so poor that he was permitted to live at home even after he entered the seminary. In fact, his ill health even made it necessary to recall him from his first assignment in Warsaw, where he was an attaché of the nunciature. .... Read More

 
PROGRAMMING HIGHLIGHTS FOR THE WEEK
Holy Mass for the Conclusion of the Synod Bishops for the Middle East
From St. Peter's Basilica, Pope Benedict XVI celebrates Holy Mass for the Conclusion of the Special Assembly for the Middle East of the Synod of Bishops.
Sun. October 24 at 3:30 AM ET / 12:30 AM PT
Sun. October 24 at 12 PM ET / 9 AM PT
Mission of the Poor
A documentary look at the Missionaries of the Poor, a religious order dedicated to helping the most abandoned and destitute peoples in Jamaica and numerous other countries.

Sun. October 24 at 2 PM ET / 11 AM PT

Mission Sunday
Join Fr. Groeschel on World Mission Sunday as he interviews missionaries from around the world.
Sun. October 24 at 5:30 AM ET / 2:30 AM PT (Pt 1)
Sun. October 24 at 5:30 PM ET / 2:30 PM PT
(Pt 2)

Posted via email from deaconjohn's posterous